Revival?

Probably not. But at least for now I’m back to writing personal posts again.

Looking back it has been two years since my last post, and I’m a little surprised to see that some of my translation posts are still getting traffic. But that’s all there is. As expected, no one is reading my personal life stories, which I’m partly glad about, since there tend to be some ugly stuff among them.

So why am I back? Since the last time I posted, I’ve entered university and am going through the last semester of my second year here. One of the classes I’m taking this time is Creative Non-Fiction Writing, and as my lecturer had suggested, I’ve decided to give blog writing another try. It was fun back when I was younger. The only readership I had were my close friends, and they had fun reading our common experience from my point of view. But not such long-winded blog writing has fallen out of style thanks to the increasingly short attention span people now have, so something like this is pretty unpopular.

To be honest, I have no idea why I’m even writing this. I had a story to share, of course, but all of a sudden I’ve began to fall away from that. See, short attention span. Even writing this much has exhausted me to a certain extent. It’s been so long since I wrote something about myself. I’ve been writing so much about my imaginary characters and their imaginary lives that writing something like this feels strangely surreal.

But back to my point. A revival of this blog seems highly unlikely, since most of my activity has shifted to Tumblr (man, the fandoms that exist there) and Twitter. Most probably this would be my last post on this blog. Of course, there are enough fandom content here for me to let it remain online, but since nothing new will be coming here I doubt I will be getting many new visitors.

I have two personas/aliases on the internet, both for different things. I’m Niji Konohana when I’m a translator, fan-artist or part of fandoms. But I’m Blythe Oblivion when I’m writing stories (fiction or not), doing art for my own stories, and being elsewhere on the internet. Of course, I have more fame as Niji compared to being Blythe, especially since Niji has had more exposure, is older and is known in many fandoms. Blythe is still just a baby, and seeing the kind of content she does, it will take a while before she would even gain much attention. Though, of course, I have to do my part and release more things under her name.

Now, links. If this blog dies, where else can you find me? There are the links on the pinned post of this blog, half of which still work. But here’s the more updated and detailed list.

Translation Blog – http://nijiyoake.tumblr.com/

I cannot believe how active this blog turned out to be. It’s three years old and I have almost a thousand followers, which is faster than the speed my YouTube accounts grew. Of course, both have begun to slow down, but Tumblr is far more interactive, and seeing how I’m on there almost every hour where I’m awake, that’s probably the best place to contact me. Right now I’m translating manga, novels, anisongs, doujin music and doujin novels. Yeah, I’m probably biting more than I can chew.

Fandom Blog – http://usagixusagi.tumblr.com/

Another blog that I didn’t expect to grow. I lend part of it to the fact that I have a good sense of humour, have settled myself into great fandoms, and have a certain reputation as a fan-translator, but it’s still great to see people sharing what I like.

Writing Blog – http://winter-lacrima.tumblr.com/

This blog is still relatively inactive, mostly because I haven’t yet posted much of my original works up there yet. I do reblog some writing related posts once in a while, but I’m not surprised that there isn’t much response yet because I haven’t technically done anything good on it yet.

Music Blog – http://nijimusic.tumblr.com/

This is where I post my favourite doujin tracks, in hopes of promoting them. So far it hasn’t been very successful because I’m quite inactive with it (it’s really hard to maintain, actually), but once in a while I give it some brief updates with my usual musical tastes.

Twitter – https://twitter.com/earthfairys

As unfortunate as it is, my Twitter is filled with so much spam that I don’t enjoy looking at it often, so I only go there when I have little snippets of my life to share, have updates regarding my translations, or just to check for notifications. You can try contacting me there, but chances are it’ll take me a few days to see it.

YouTube Channel – https://www.youtube.com/user/victorialau95

The one that started it all. This is my original YouTube channel, which I’ve recently been focused on posting the translations of doujin music. My most popular posts are Touhou and Vocaloid ones, which are unfortunately fandoms I’m no longer as interested in anymore. But if you agree with my tastes you will enjoy whatever else I upload.

YouTube Channel #2 – https://www.youtube.com/user/KonohanaNiji

Supposedly my backup account, it is now a blog where I risk getting suspended by uploading translations to non-doujin, major-label music. Thanks to Owari no Hoshi, I gained quite a lot of subscribers even when I had left it dormant for about a year. I still have no idea what I’ll be uploading there, but if I come across any nice major songs I will post it there.

Leave a comment